Heritage Rose Society of South Africa (HRSSA)

About us

Heritage Rose Society logo
The Heritage Rose Society of South Africa was founded in Addo, Eastern Cape in 1989. It aims to promote the conservation of Old Garden Roses and Species roses in South Africa, particularly those imported by early settlers from the 17th Century onwards.   Though the initial meeting was held in the Eastern Cape, the society is a national one with no regional base.  Regional representatives, generally linked to other rose societies, provide opportunities for face to face contact while regular Newsletters serve to keep members up to speed and entertained.

The membership grew from the initial 10 founders and is currently just below 100.  Renowned rosarian and author, Dr Gwen Fagan, is our Honorary President.  We are proud to count recipients of the highest honours/awards in the National and International rose growing community, ranging from the Zoë Gilbert Award to WFRS Awards for Service, Literary Excellence and Garden Excellence among our members.

The Society maintains close ties with the SA Rosarium in Bedford, Eastern Cape which is a project that was initiated by a group of HRSSA members and aims to house the complete collection of Old Garden Roses listed in Dr Fagan’s book, ‘Roses at the Cape of Good Hope’.

Office Bearers

Honorary President: Dr Gwen Fagan
Chairman : Jackie Kalley
Treasurer: Julia Sulman
Secretary: Sheenagh Harris (past president of the WFRS)

WFRS Standing Committee representative: Rae Gilbert

Regional representatives:  Rozanne Barlow – Western Cape Winelands, Rae Gilbert – Southern Cape

General Information

Our general meeting is held in conjunction with the ROSA National Convention every two years.
Subscriptions based on a ‘user pays’ basis and starts with R90 per annum for e-mail/digital members.
All the ROSA membership benefits are extended to HRSSA members.
All enquiries should be directed to our e-mail address or Facebook Page.

Contact Us

Email: heritageroses.sa@gmail.com

Find us on Facebook